Unpaid unemployed, broken foot

I think you all may know by now that I’m long term unemployed, and also unpaid. It helps the statistics that as I’m not paid anymore, I’m officially not unemployed. Something wrong with that scenario.

This would be okay except the wife, who is officially employed, broke her foot last week so now she is off for the next six weeks. But only on half pay. So now, like J.K. Rowling, we are officially at rock bottom. I can only hope my fortunes will be as successful as hers, or even a portion. But I love her books, ingenious, and extremely well written. I am not in the same league.

But it is tough. The wife’s mother has Altzheimer’s and Parkinson’s so is in a home, that costs us $2k a month, and although the VA should be paying as she is the wife of a veteran, they have still to come up with the money. After many months of waiting. So all my 401k has gone, we had to give up our home, and we are going to owe the taxman thousands because we used the money for her healthcare. We now owe banks money, which will probably be pursued because they need to pay out huge bonuses each year, and the wife won’t be paid for weeks as she’s now on disability. Even with her health insurance, we still owe money for blood tests and such, and if I have the colonoscopy that is scheduled, if they cut off any polyps then we get another bill.

Isn’t life wonderful? But you know what? I know my books are good, scary good. They are going to sell and one day I will be able to put this behind me. I’ve been broke before, so I know what it’s like, but now I have the answer. The folk who read my books enjoy them, they are entertained by them, and despite the subjects they want more. That’s what keeps me going. When I suggested to the wife that I should go and wash dishes or something, she said no, your books are our future so keep working on them and the social networks to keep your name out there.

I have always been a humble guy, and I write stories simply that everyone can understand, because that’s how I like books. I don’t like to start reading a book and then have to consult a dictionary because I have no idea what the author is saying. A lot of it is to fill in space, I know that, but I hate skipping pages which is what I do with a lot of books, or trawling through pages of technical details. So you won’t find that in my books, you will want to read the middle which I believe to be almost as important as the first chapter.

Apart from being humble, I am also honest. Too many years working as a butler instilled this, so although I wish I could tell you when Consequences is going to be released, right now I can’t. I also can’t tell you when Stonebridge Manor and Prospects are going to be re-published. Hopefully, it will be very soon, as I have another book in the works that I will be able to send to DonnaInk Publications in around three to four weeks. This particular book interests the FBI, as I consulted with them, and they are anxious to receive some copies and make sure I got at least some of the details right. I do hope so, this book is a heart breaker and has been very difficult to write. I find that I want to personally kill some of the inhuman bastards that I needed to include, and that are actually out there.

So that is my news for this weekend. I hope you all are well, staying cheerful, and having some fun.

About petercbradbury

I am an out of work Butler from Manchester, England and now living in California with my wife Debbie and dog Niner. Now writing novels full time, my main concern is making my books enjoyable and entertaining, which my reviews concur.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

